I can't find my customer in FieldEdge

Follow

Table of Contents

Overview

Back to top

There may be times that a customer is not found in FieldEdge but is visible in QuickBooks. The following instructions will walk you through how to resolve this scenario. First, we will create the customer in FieldEdge. Then, we will verify they are merged and synced to the correct customer in QuickBooks.

Instruction

Back to top

The following steps assume you were not able to find a customer in FieldEdge but see that customer in QuickBooks. Therefore, use the steps below to create your customer in FieldEdge. Then, follow the instructions to merge these customers in QuickBooks.

FieldEdge Steps

Back to top

1. Add the customer in question in FieldEdge, but change the Display Name to differ from the QuickBooks customer. This can be done by adding a number or character to the end of the Display Name.

2. Once added to FieldEdge, it will automatically create this new customer in QuickBooks.

3. In QuickBooks, you'll now need to merge one of the customers into the customer you would like to use moving forward.

4. Select your version of QuickBooks to move onto merging instructions.

QuickBooks Steps

Back to top

Select the appropriate version of QuickBooks and follow the instructions on how to merge your customers.

QuickBooks Online

1. Select Sales, then choose Customers.

2. Select the customer you do not want to use, then choose Edit

  • Note: Make sure that the customers that are being merged are at the same level. For example, a job/sub-customer, or an overall customer.

3. Change the Title, First name, Middle name, Last name, and Suffix to be identical to the customer you're merging into.

  • Note: The customer you're merging into should be the customer with the correct name and information you want to use moving forward.

4. Select Save, then choose Yes to confirm that you want to merge these customers.

At this point, your customers are merged and you should be synced in both QuickBooks and FieldEdge.

QuickBooks Desktop

Switch to Single-User Mode

1. In FieldEdge, pause the FieldEdge QuickBooks Connector.

2. Have all other users log out of QuickBooks.

3. Log into QuickBooks on a single user with appropriate permissions.

4. In QuickBooks, click on File and select Switch to Single-User Mode.

5. In FieldEdge, start the FieldEdge QuickBooks Connector by clicking on Settings, choosing QuickBooks in the Global Settings section, then click Resume Connection.

In QuickBooks

The following process was originally published by QuickBooks and can be viewed here.

1. Click Sales and then choose Customers.

2. Make sure both customers you wish to merge are listed and at the same level.

  • Note: Sub-customers must be merged with other sub-customers/jobs. Overall customers must be merged with other overall customers.

3. Right-click the customer whose name you do not wish to use, then select Edit Customer: Job.

  • Note: The customer you're merging into should be the customer with the correct name and information you want to use moving forward.

4. Change the Customer Name so that it matches the exact name of the customer you will use moving forward.

5. Click OK and choose Yes to confirm the merging of these two customers.

At this point, your customers are merged and you should be synced in both QuickBooks and FieldEdge.

0 people found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.